Press release of Messe DüsseldorfDr. Andreas Pleßke, CEO at Koenig & Bauer AG, confirmed as new chairman of the drupa Committee

Dr Andreas Pleßke - member of the Koenig & Bauer Executive Board since 2014 and CEO since 2021 - is the new Chairman of the drupa Committee

As part of the constitutive meeting of the drupa Committee on 8 February 2022, Dr. Andreas Pleßke, CEO at Koenig & Bauer AG, has been appointed Chairman of this body. Wolfgang Poppen, Managing Partner at Freiburger Druck GmbH & Co. KG and President of the German Printing and Media Industries Federation (Bundesverband Druck und Medien e.V.), was again confirmed in office as his deputy. Both candidates were elected unanimously.

Dr. Andreas Pleßke succeeds Claus Bolza-Schünemann in office, the former CEO of Koenig & Bauer AG, who had chaired the drupa Committee from 2012 and retired at the designated age. “It is a special honour for me to also succeed Mr Bolza-Schünemann in this circle and I would like to thank the Committee members for their trust,” stresses Dr. Pleßke and goes on to say: “I am delighted to pro-actively contribute to shaping the further development and global standing of drupa in my new position with a view to strengthening its unique selling proposal as the world’s leading trade fair.”  

Also delighted at his re-election as deputy, Wolfgang Poppen echoed this view: “drupa stands for innovations and technology premieres and will definitely again prove a key milestone in a constantly evolving industry.”

The next drupa will be held at the Düsseldorf Exhibition Centre from 28 May to 7 June 2024 and will focus on the trends digitalisation and sustainability. Applications for exhibitors are now open online at .

The drupa Committee was founded as part of the first drupa in 1951 and is composed of equal numbers of exhibitors and visitors. Its task is to advise Messe Düsseldorf on the conceptual further devlopment of this leading trade fair to stay relevant for the sector.   

The personal dialogue with important experts and multipliers on the part of manufacturers and users in the industry takes on a very special significance, especially in view of the continuing changes facing the industry, particularly due to the continued impact of the global pandemic. The future orientation of drupa is decisively influenced by these developments. At present, the personal members of the Committee represent six industry associations:

  • Fachverband Druck- und Papiertechnik im VDMA e.V. (Printing and Paper Technology Association within the VDMA)
  • Bundesverband Druck und Medien e.V. (German Printing and Media Industries Federation)
  • Wirtschaftsverbände Papierverarbeitung (Paper Processing Trade Associations)
  • Verband der deutschen Lack- und Druckfarbenindustrie e.V. (Association of the German Paint and Printing Ink Industry)
  • DFTA Flexodruck Fachverband e.V. (DFTA Flexographic Technical Association)

The Committee for drupa 2024 at a glance:

  • Chairman Andreas Pleßke, CEO, Koenig & Bauer AG (VDMA)
  • Deputy Chairman Wolfgang Poppen, Managing Partner, Freiburger Druck GmbH & Co. KG (bvdm)
  • Paul Albert Deimel, Chief Executive Officer, bvdm – Bundesverband Druck und Medien e.V. (German Printing and Media Industries Federation)
  • Ralph Dittmann, General Manager, WKS DRUCKHOLDING GmbH
  • Werner Drechsler, Managing Partner, Druckstudio GmbH
  • Martin Drews, Head of Raw Materials, Legal Divisions, DIE PAPIERINDUSTRIE e.V. (THE PAPER INDUSTRY)
  • Markus Frick, Managing Director, Baumann Maschinenbau Solms GmbH & Co. KG & Perfecta Schneidemaschinenwerk GmbH Bautzen
  • Gunther Gerlach, Chairman of the Board, Epple Druckfarben AG
  • Markus Heering, Managing Director of the Printing and Paper Technology Association within the VDMA, Mechanical Engineering Industry Association
  • Martin Kanert, General Manager, VdL – Verband der deutschen Lack- und Druck-farbenindustrie e.V. (Association of the German Paint and Printing Ink Industry)
  • Nicola Kopp-Rostek, Managing Director, DFTA Flexodruck Fachverband e.V. (DFTA – German Flexographic Technical Association)
  • Walter Kurz, Board of Management, LEONHARD KURZ Stiftung & Co. KG
  • Falco Paepenmüller, CTO, Windmöller & Hölscher KG
  • Thomas Pfeiffer, Managing Director, WPV – Wirtschaftsverbände Papierverarbeitung e.V. (Paper Processing Trade Associations)
  • Bernd Sauter, Managing Director, KAMA GmbH
  • Martin Schorn, Director, Technical Customer Service News & Retail (N&R), UPM Communication Papers

Your Contact

Press Department for drupa 2024
Anne Schröer
Manager Press & PR
Tel.: +49 (0)211-4560 465
E-Mail: SchroeerA(at)


Dagmar Ringel
Director Corporate Communications

Friedrich-Koenig-Straße 4
97080 Würzburg

T: +49 931 909-6756

Order Print Brochures
    Order Now